More Info On Modulus

This is a follow up post to my previous post titled New Modulus Song. Since I wrote that there have been a few developments, namely that local death metal band Modulus wrote a blog post with more info and also I wrote them a message and they answered a few of my questions. Their new album will be called Perfection Through Manipulation and I currently have no idea when that will be officially released. Considering it’s taken 3.5 years to get it finished, who knows how far off a release date is. They did tell me that it would probably be on iTunes first, then available on CD. The track listing for Perfection Through Manipulation will be:

1. Intro
2. Compromising The Bio-Wall
3. Self Replicating Virus
4. Post Traumatic Enhancement Disorder
5. Neural Processor
6. Terminal Addiction
7. Chemical Stimulus Emulation
8. Emotional Limiter
9. Outro

As you can see, tracks 2, 4 and 5 are all from their Prototype EP. These seem to be re-recorded versions of those songs though. A few of the questions I had in my previous post have now been answered also. Here’s a quote from their message to me:

“Currently, the band only consists of the two guitarists Mark [Weathers] and Juan [Somarriba]. Jim [Richman] left to spend more time with his family. Eric [Snyder] left to concentrate on work. Ben [Kelly] left to concentrate on his other band Brave. We tried to find a drummer but unfortunately could not find anyone of Jim Richman’s skill. We painfully recreated drum beats from old songs and videos to bring as close as possible a human experience.”

They also told me that they don’t have any upcoming shows scheduled due to a lack of band members (I’m sure the biggest hurdle being the lack of a drummer). Anyways, you can listen to all the new songs they posted on their MySpace site or you can download them here. They said they will be posting more songs at some point, but until then you’ve got these four.

New Modulus Song

Northern Virginia based death metal band Modulus has posted a new song onto their MySpace page. The song is titled Emotional Limiter and continues in their style of technical and brutal death metal with lots of time changes, in the vein of bands like Suffocation. I have no idea what the band’s line up is on this song, though it sounds like a drum machine has been used. I don’t know for sure, but I’d imagine the song comes from the recording session mentioned in their MySpace blog post dated 5 December 2008. As far as I know, they’ve only ever released a 3 song EP titled Prototype, which came out in 2004. It’s pretty good but it’s biggest shortfall is it’s length. Regardless, this new song does seem like an updated effort to their previous work. Hopefully there will be more coming soon. Until then, you can listen to the new song or download it at this location: